Security resources for home and online
Home > Home Security > Security Systems > ADT Security Reviews

ADT Security Reviews

ADT LogoADT offers security for your home backed by a reputation of quality service that you can depend on. As a security provider for more than 100 years, ADT is well established as a company who takes their commitment to your home security seriously and is arguably the most well-known name in the security business. ADT also stands by its service, offering a Money-Back Service Guarantee, Theft Protection Guarantee, Relocation Discount Guarantee and a Homeowner Insurance Discount Certificate. For a limited time, they are even offering same day installation when you call the number below to set up service with them. Do all of these positives mean that ADT is the best choice in come security? We are not going to make that claim, because we have received many consumer reviews throughout the years from ADT customers who find their customer service to be severely lacking. We chose ADT as our #9 pick in ASecureLife.com’s Best Home Alarm System article.

Call: 855-305-9283
Visit Website

ADT offers security for your home backed by a reputation of quality service that you can depend on. As a security provider for more than 100 years, ADT is well established as a company who takes their commitment to your home security seriously and is arguably the most well-known name in the security business. ADT also stands by its service, offering a Money-Back Service Guarantee, Theft Protection Guarantee, Relocation Discount Guarantee and a Homeowner Insurance Discount Certificate. For a limited time, they are even offering same day installation when you call the number below to set up service with them.…

Review Overview

Customer Service & Reputation
Price
Equipment
Technology

2.61/5.00

Summary : ADT is America's largest security system provider, but we have found that customer service can be varied depending on your local installer.

User Rating: 1.39 ( 112 votes)
52

Key Features

Mover’s Guarantee

The company’s relocation service is referred to as a “Mover’s Guarantee” which will not necessarily allow you to move your system (especially if it is wired or hybrid wired/wireless), but does offer a comparable equipment package at no cost so long as you have been a customer for at least 6 months with no lapse in your current contract or payment. Any additional equipment needed for your new home would be provided at 25% off the normal price if you sign a new contract for 36 months with any move of equipment.

Equipment Warranty

While most companies offer a one or two-year, if not lifetime, equipment warranty to back up the product they are selling, ADT charges for an extended warranty. And to further confuse matters, the pricing for this “Quality Service Plan” is not disclosed on the website so you will have to call to get more information on how this should be calculated in determining the true cost of your system.

Pros

  • A+ rating on the BBB
  • Largest security company in the business (estimated to be 10 times larger than the next security company)
  • 24/7 phone and email support
  • Multiple monitoring centers
  • Same day installation is available

Cons

  • Uses authorized dealers which can be hit or miss
  • Monthly warranty fee

Packages & pricing

ADT home security Logo
Equipment Fee
Installation Fee
Monthly Price
Contract Length
Base / Console
Motion Detector
Door or Window Sensor
Keychain Remote
Smartphone Control
Video Cameras OR Automated Door Lock
Home Automation OR Live Video
Monitoring Method
Basic
Free
$99.00
$36.99
36 Months
­
­
1 Included
­
3 Included
Landline
Basic Wireless
Free
$99.00
Must Call ADT
36 Months
­
­
1 Included
­
3 Included
­
1 Included
Cellular
ADT Pulse
Must Call ADT
Must Call ADT
$52.99
36 Months
­
­
1 Included
­
3 Included
­
1 Included
­
Cellular
ADT Pulse + Video OR Home Control
Must Call ADT
Must Call ADT
$59.99
36 Months
­
­
1 Included
­
3 Included
­
1 Included
­
­
­
Cellular

ADT Coupon Code

We are not aware of any available ADT coupon codes at this time.

ADT Background and History

ADT was formed in 1874, when 57 district telegraphs joined to form a secure network under the name American District Telegraph. The telegraph system allowed for faster communication between clients and services than was previously seen. As time went on, ADT eventually became a publicly owned company in 1969. Today, ADT still uses advanced communication systems in order to allow their clients to communicate with them 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. One of ADT’€™s most obvious displays of their trustworthiness is the fact that ADT systems cover every Federal courthouse in the United States of America. However, as ADT has grown and it’s authorized dealer program was used to sell and install systems by region, their reputation for customer service has suffered.

Customer Reviews

Positive Reviews

I’ve been customer of ADT for over 10 years and I have nothing to say but they’re a great Company! Currently I have the Pulse system with cameras, Co2 detectors that can be controlled from iPhone and recently added: front door lock, Nest Thermostats (5), garage door tied to Pulse. They all work in unison and if my alarm sounds they call within 30 seconds. The Nest Thermostats are the greatest thing ever for energy savings. I’m very happy with ADT and they do an excellent job. I also use ADT medical service device (pendant) if I fall as I disabled. Excellent medical service and works everywhere outside the house or on the road! – James, Consumer Affairs 2/6/2016

Thank you ADT for such a great experience! My family loves the new home security and automation system we ordered a few weeks back. You guys were so helpful, and I really appreciate the upgrades and extra we received as part of the holiday special. What a deal! – Eric, BBB 1/7/2016

Negative Reviews

Had ADT in past and system worked. Just moved and ADT placed new alarm, 90 percent false alarms that scares my children in middle of the night! Customer service is awful and each service call takes 5-6 days to get someone to fix system. – Gary, Consumer Affairs 2/27/2016

After being an ADT customer for 5 years, I decided to shop around for other systems. Found another company that offered updated technology (touchscreen, cameras, the whole nine) for the same amount ADT was charging to monitor my door sensors. I swiftly cancelled my ADT, on that call they offered to knock my bill down to $20/month instead of my current $50 (scumbag evidence already). Since cancelling, I get 2-3 calls everyday from ADT trying to get me to switch back and do business with them again. They notoriously “disconnect” from complaint calls, and requesting to be placed on a no call list is a waste of breath. The best customer to them is the one that never calls and never shops around to see what other competitors charge, just blindly tossing them money each month. – Andrew, BBB 3/3/2016

ADT Security Reviews

As a security provider for more than 100 years, ADT is well established as a company and is arguably the most well-known name in the security business. Large national alarm companies like ADT may use authorized dealers to sell and install their alarm products. Unfortunately, lack of training and quality control can lead to low quality dealers, and as such there have been quite a few negative reviews on ADT we’ve received over the years. Fortunately, there are some ADT dealers that are quite good, it just depends on your geographic location.

What are your thoughts on ADT?

Our site's mission is to help consumers make more informed purchase decisions. This website accepts financial compensation from some of the companies mentioned which allows us to provide this free service to our readers. Compensation does not influence the rankings of products. More info on our disclosure page.

Sign up to Receive a Free Home Safety Checklist, and Monthly Security Tips & Reviews!


About Kimberly Kurimski
Kimberly has always taken security seriously. Whether it's making sure she locks all the doors or using complex passwords, she tries her best to live a secure life. She has years of experience with testing, reviewing, and writing about security systems. One of her favorite parts of her job is being able to inform consumers of the best security products available.
Previous:
Next:
  • iba

    I agree with Angela and Geoff. i put the alarm on before i left the house on the fourth day and apparently they only give you 3 days to cancel it. It was fine the first 3 days. Then the following day it started going off and no one was home so we received a call informing us of that,so we were like we aren’t home and asked if it was could be fixed they were like no problem but it kept going off almost every day after that even when we didn’t touch it so i called to make an appointment and make sure it was fixed. they told me my appointment would be scheduled but i had to wait a month. and when i asked if they could atleast try to fit me in, they were like we told u it will be in a month so u would have to wait. I mean yeah it makes so much sense that no one will break in during that time because they will wait until i get my alarm fixed. they werent the least understanding and i got the worst service ever. the girl i was talking to kept cutting me off and just saying either pay or wait. and hilariously they told me that my front alarm was working so i guess i should be fine, no worries because if some one tries to break in they will obviously avoid all the windows and other doors because those alarms arent working and break in through the front door. and when i called again to cancel it they were like u have to pay 75% of what u will have paid for next 3 years to break the contract. I should have read these reviews before i got ‘ADT’. I regret getting it so if you do end up with it make sure u know what u are getting in to. the employees i talked to were so rude and didnt even apologize because apparently it was my fault that i didnt make sure the alarm wasnt working the first three days. like i would have predicted this would happen. make sure u know exactly what u are getting in to before u sign up with them or any other company.

  • Miranda Scholl

    Let me start by saying that getting ADT was the worst decision I have made for my home. I had service at an old house (old because I moved). I had my services transferred to my new home, or so I thought. For over 15 months, I’ve been paying for service at my old house. Yes, free ADT for the new tenants…you’re welcome. I speak to a very nice lady who refunds me 17 months of payments. She was lovely. Then she tells me that my current address is in collection and she doesn’t know why. She transfers me to the billing office. They tell me that my current address is in collection for a cancelation fee of $1100 because I broke my contract. The contract was never broken because it’s the only one I’ve been paying. Won that argument. I then find out that they haven’t received a signal from my new home in 15 months and that my alarm hasn’t been active. Really? Yet, this address is in collections for a cancelation fee? I paid the $157.50 for them to install my new system in my new home that’s never been active. So, yes, ADT essentially stole $157.50 from me. Not cool with that. Now I have to deal with ADT and collection agencies to get this off of my credit. Do yourself a favor and run far away from ADT. They will only screw you for a buck. Or $1100 of them apparently. Actually, let’s just add it all together and say they’ll screw you out of $2100. North America’s number one security system my ass.

  • Lonna Emerson

    I joined Adt in may it worked for 14 days, then I got woke up in the middle of the night the system failed. I called was told to unplug the system which meant finding a screwdriver in the middle of the night with the buzzing going off. Then I was told to take the face off n unplug a wire there. The next day a technician came out and still nothing so she went into the system and went to Alana and put the buzzing down to 0 I was like why didn’t They have me do that last night. We had to go back east and got back Friday. I calling d them and they had a technician come out again they said all was fixed well they hooked it up and no go so they said I could do a down grade n I said no I wanted all or nothing. When I first signed up they said since I was getting the system I was able to get the doorbell camera for their cost of 100.00 well since their system didn’t work I wanted the doorbell camera still because it can work without their system i told them the smoke detector only works with their system so I wanted to give that back and get my money back on it and the months they took money while my system didn’t work. They go u can’t keep the doorbell camera without paying an extra 100.00 I said nope I already paid for it. They said since I’m not keeping the system u have to pay more or give it back. So they are Petty, if someone already paid and it’s not the customers fault they should of let that customer keep what they wanted for what they paid. All I know is I will never give them a chance again no matter if I buy a house and their system would work.
    If they can’t let a customer keep what they paid for that would work without their system then they don’t need my money.

  • Felice Echard

    Home security is supposed to protect you from theft, but who’s going to protect you from the scam artists and thieves that are ADT?

  • TONY C

    ADT or “DEFEND” (on long island)-do not let them in your door. They are low lifes who prey on the elderly and handicapped – they came to take over my working system, took it apart, then left with the system not working. They refuse to put the system back the way they found it, and want me to buy a new system at $6,000. And, spreading word of their underhanded ways, I find numerous friends who have had nothing but negative results with ADT. THINK TWICE BEFORE YOU ANSWER THEIR NOGUS MAILINGS – FREE, MY BUTT.

  • Janet LaTurner

    I am not one to post a lot of rants on Facebook, but I hope this will open some eyes when it comes to caring for the elderly. My mom had subscribed (yes HAD) for 10 years to ADT’s security system which included a pendant she wore as a medical alert button. She fell 2 weeks ago 15 minutes after I had spoken to her on the phone. She fractured her right arm and badly bruised her hip and face and was unable to get up. She had retained consciousness throughout the 5 hours she laid there pushing her medical alert button that DID NOT WORK!!! Praise the Lord, she was expected to meet up with some friends later that came looking for her when she didn’t respond to their phone calls. ADT’s response when I called them was a 45 minute credit on a service call. REALLY?? Even when I practically laughed at that offer, I was transferred to the “customer retention” line. After holding for 40 minutes to speak to a representative, we got their blessing for a free service call and a 2 month credit. (can you sense my sarcasm with that). When I called them the next week to schedule a service call, I specifically told them to bring a new pendant. Guess who showed up this morning for a service call with NO PENDANT and none available in the area?? These people have no concept of customer service. When Mom told them to just cancel her service, they will not even pick up their antiquated equipment because they know it DOES NOT WORK!!! Please, do NOT count on your parent’s/grandparent’s medical alert providing any security for them in a medical emergency if they have subscribed to ADT. They just blame it on their clients for not calling to schedule a service appointment for the equipment that ADT owns!! Our family is certainly looking into other DEPENDABLE options for her now.

  • Kara

    ADT is horrible! We had a billing issue and they cancelled service without any notice. When we tried to get it turned on they said wait until Monday when the billing department is open. It is Saturday evening and we have nothing to protect our home until Monday??? It is a rip off money wise and customer support is a joke!

  • David

    ADT is nothing but a money making scheme. If you are moving, they take that opportunity to really slam you with charges knowing you are under contract and at their mercy. I tried to cancel and was told I had to payout 900$. Then I get nailed with a 99$ installation, when I he already paid that with my first house. Stay far away from ADT. Plenty of companies out there. Shop around! their security systems are very easy to manipulate as well. itll be nothing be dumping money down the toilet.

  • disappointed

    ADT is all about the bait and switch. They promise you the world and then change everything when the installer shows up. Big name and that’s about it.

  • Linda

    My experience is very similar. I called for the 99 dollar system and service fee of 27.99 a month. They cut a hole in my beautiful foyer wall and then told me I need at least 8600.00 of equipment and that my landline would not work with it. The installer did not even know how to hook into my land line. After I told him I cannot afford 8600.00, he dropped the price to 3600.00. I called customer service and told him to leave. I am stuck with having the hole in my wall repaired. I think this is definitely bait and switch. He left quite angry and told me he is required to put the hole in my wall as the first thing he does when he comes in. Beware of ADT. I actually feel violated. I called customer service the next but they refuse to call me back.

  • Abby

    By far the worst and most dishonest company I’ve dealt with. The salesman who installed my system said they would move it for free as many times as needed in the three year contract. He failed to mention that they would automatically renew my contract for an additional three years EVERY time they moved it. Last year I moved and cannot have a security system in my new place. They have been charging me $50 each month for the last year for a system that is not even hooked up!!! When trying to cancel, they told me I had to pay half of the remaining balance of the contact that mysteriously “restarted” after moving. As a customer service manager myself, I am enraged by a company that can steal and lie to customers like ADT does.

  • Geoff Anderson

    We had our home broken into some years ago, but today, I once again feel robbed, preyed upon and vulnerable..

    This time, it is the service we choose for peace of mind that have taken from us: ADT.

    Don’t sign with ADT!!

    You will read similar warnings on blogs, comments, feeds and other online reviews – if you haven’t already signed a contract – then you’re luckier than most, keep your money and find another way of keeping you and your possessions safe!

    It’s no surprise they score 1.9/10 on ‘Best Home Security Companies’ by 648 reviewers..

    Here is why:

    No Free Installation With Traditional Plan

    36-Month Contract Required

    Outrageous cancellation terms

    Excessively long call times

    Pushy sales tactics

    Regularly increases monthly fee for no reason

    Requires written, signed-for letters to acknowledge any customer requests/complaints

    Many Negative User Reviews

    Plethora of BBB Complaints

    If you read this and ADT manage to convince you, when you do eventually become disaffected, write your own post and share with others.

    It is only by sharing the information and by buying services that are ethical, fair and transparent that we can shape the industry for the better and rid the market of companies like ADT.

    We deserve better.

    • Abby

      Amen! I’m so disappointed by the lack of integrity and customer service in this company. ADT is the one robbing everyone! Protection…. I don’t think so!

  • Geoff

    We had our home broken into some years ago, but today, I once again feel robbed, preyed upon and vulnerable..
    This time, it is the service we choose for peace of mind that have taken from us: ADT.

    You will read similar warnings on blogs, comments, feeds and other online reviews – if you haven’t already signed a contract – then you’re luckier than most, keep your money and find another way of keeping you and your possessions safe!

    Don’t sign with ADT!!

    It’s no surprise they score 1.9/10 on ‘Best Home Security Companies’ by 648 reviewers..

    Here is why:

    No Free Installation With Traditional Plan
    36-Month Contract Required
    Outrageous cancellation terms
    Excessively long call times
    Pushy sales tactics
    Regularly increases monthly fee for no reason
    Requires written, signed-for letters to acknowledge any customer requests/complaints
    Many Negative User Reviews
    Plethora of BBB Complaints

    If you read this and ADT manage to convince you, when you do eventually become disaffected, write your own post and share with others.

    It is only by sharing the information and by buying services that are ethical, fair and transparent that we can shape the industry for the better and rid the market of companies like ADT.

    We deserve better.

  • Sticker Shocked

    If you are interested in a quote from ADT for services, make sure that they are your last quote (get quotes from their competitors first), and when they arrive at your house, watch them, like a hawk. I responded to an ad from ADT promising 15 pre-wired door or window sensors, a free home security system, and a $100 VISA gift card in exchange for a $99 customer installation charge and the purchase of ADT monitoring services (advertised at $27.99 per month).

    Beware. ADT is all about Bait-and-Switch. I agreed to the deal on the phone, and my credit card was charged. Next morning, a chipper young man arrived at my home. I asked, “I’m assuming that we’re going to need more than 15 door or window sensors–how much are additional sensors?” Instead of an answer, he said he would get the panel in place, then take me on a home security survey. He cut holes in my wall for the panel while I was out of the room, then we went on our journey.

    We have a big house with many ground floor access points, so it took a while to get all the way around. Add to the window sensors monitored smoke detectors and CO detectors, and a flood detector on the sump pump. I waited for him to bring me the total “additional cost,” expecting it to be between $1,000 and $2,000. No such luck. The price quoted was over $10,000.

    After I picked my jaw up off the floor, I told him my price point was closer to $1,000. This led to two hours of reconfigurations and recalculations, cutting out sensors and services, but (thanks to sneaky little “manager’s allowances”) never causing the price tag to fall much below $5,000. It was clear that his compensation was based on how much successful upselling he completed (he later admitted it), and that his target for his commission was for me to pay about $5,000 or more. I told him no way, and he started to pack up his equipment. It was then that I realized that he’d cut a circular hole in my wall for the main panel, all before we had yet to agree on an acceptable price.

    It seemed pretty clear to me that his approach was standard practice when customers responded to the mail ads. Cut a hole, then tell the customer that he can’t do better than his commission target, and turn up the verbal heat to guilt the customer into signing the deal. I told him that, in the absence of him being able to repair a hole in my drywall, I wanted the system which I had already paid for over the phone, no more. We eventually settled on a second panel and three other features that I had originally wanted, but had been cut out in the wheeling and dealing. By the time he left, I had a price close to what I was originally expecting.

    Oh, and that $27.99 a month for monitoring? That’s for a system over analog telephone lines, which the phone companies no longer guarantee, and which cannot have wireless monitoring (anyone can cut your phone line outside and disable the alarm). The REAL price is close to $60.00 per month.

    They may be the largest, and the best, but they are arrogant with their swagger, and very smooth in trying to get you to agree to an outrageous system cost. Check out the competition first, so you know where a system price SHOULD be. And for God’s sake, don’t turn your back on the agent and let him cut a hole in your wall.

  • PWalk

    Worst company ever!!! Thought I would go with a reputable company and get good service. Ha! 14 months after install I’m still waiting for equipment that hasn’t been installed and the installed equipment is poor quality. I can’t get service even though I’m paying monthly on a maintenance contract. No one will return my calls or emails. If you’re thinking ADT, turn and run!!!

  • Mark

    After the agreed price and install Saturday 2-27-16, and once completed, the price went up 800 dollars after tech called in to office. I immediately cancelled the service and he removed devices. Wow really? This is how they do business? Bait and switch? Now, I have holes in my walls where he removed my original keypad and power supply, and he took it with him. Now I have no working alarm at all now and wires hanging out of my walls. I made several calls, somehow disconnected several times, and nothing resolved. The only thing I was told was the tech and manager are not answering their phones. How convenient! I just want my keypad and power supply back that they stole!

  • Angel Edmundson

    I had an ADT system installed two years and three months ago. Their customer service is very poor. It takes weeks to get scheduled for installation. The door to my keypad has broken twice. They want to charge a $25 service fee to send a technician to fix it. Once a part went bad and my system was not working when I was out of town on vacation. They were unable to get someone over before I left. They have raised my monthly rate once so far. They do not follow their own procedures for calling the police in the case of an alarm. They only are good at collecting money.

  • Jerry Pian

    I called several times for ADT security systems and spoke with several managers. They promised I will receive $1500 credit for equipment and installation. During installation, the ADT described several horrible break-in stories when I was showing NOT to purchase more equipment!!! Anyway, I still declined all the EXPENSIVE options from ADT technicians, then they were not happy leaving my house without “testing” all the sensors! After 2 days I cancelled the contract (BE careful ADT only give three days to cancel!) BUT they still charged unknown fees on my credit card and they can not make promise they will not damage the wall when they removing the equipment and sensors (they still installed old fashion keypad with a hole on the wall). Finally, think twice before you pick ADT as your security company……..

  • Victoria Rice

    We have had the worst experience with ADT. They do not tell you up front that you are signing a 3 yr contract. They also do not tell you that if you move you have to pay up to $300 to get service started at your new residence and you have to start a new 3 yr contract as well. All representatives tell you something different every time. They are not military friendly either! If you move into a home that isn’t wired for ADT you have to pay for the equipment. I would highly recommend doing your homework before you go with them. Their prices are not cheaper than others and do not have better service. I wish we would have done more homework.

  • lyons transfer

    Recently, we had a problem in which one of our doors began to activate the alarm in the middle of the night, every night. One night someone had to sleep in the store in fear that the alarm would keep ringing. When we contacted ADT they turned off our alarm and told us that it would take 2 weeks for a technician to come out and help us. How is a business supposed to function without an alarm for over 2 weeks? That was our first problem and we had no other choice but to accept it. So, we wait the 2 weeks but when the date of our scheduling came, no one showed up. (We were originally scheduled for the 29th of December) We contacted ADT yet again and they told us that they had sent someone out on an earlier date but due to the store being closed (they came on Christmas Eve, on the 24th of December) they automatically canceled our original appointment. Several things are wrong with that; we were not notified about them being able to come on an earlier date, we were not notified about our original date also being canceled, and now they have given us another 2 week wait for a new appointment. We are beyond furious. Had they contacted us about being able to come on the 24th instead of the originally planned 29th, we would have made sure someone would have been in the store to let them in. When confronted with that fact, they informed us that someone tried to contact us on the previous day but that is false. They have not only our business number but multiple personal numbers in which no one tried contacting. Now, we are left waiting, with no alarm, through another big holiday break, for hopefully someone to come and help us. With all of this, every phone call takes at least a whole day to resolve because when you call their customer representatives no one really helps you and they put you on a waiting list. Let’s see if someone really comes out for the next appointment or if we’ll be left in another back and forth dance with them. I understand that this is a big company and they deal with thousands of people and businesses every day and that it’s impossible to attend to everyone as quickly as we desire but the level of unprofessionalism that we have experienced from them is just unacceptable.

  • Nathasha

    The customer service at ADT is the absolute worst!!! The biggest problem with ADT is whenever you have a problem with the alarm system or any door or window sensor malfunctioning, the soonest a Technician can go to your home to fix the problem is always a week! What happens when someone breaks in before it’s able to be repaired satisfactorily? You’re “screwed”!!! And ADT isn’t liable even though you pay them monthly to protect your home! And many times when the tech finally shows up, it’s someone who does a mediocre job and you have to call ADT again to send someone else to fix the same problem and wait another week. So you can end up waiting 2 weeks before you feel secured in your home! For such a big company, I’m appalled and I’m definitely looking to switch to another company more reliable but the problem is – Is there another company more reliable or do we just have to settle for mediocrity?

  • Raul Reyes

    The cameras do not work and the ADT pulse app is flaky. I have had issues since install and have yet to get them to response. I gave them plenty of chances to remedy the issues and am now ready for them to let me go. I have a complaint into the BBB requesting for help with cancellation. At least here in California, I would not recommend ADT to anyone I know.

  • Sorry to hear scheduling was such a nightmare Jan. That’s the worst.

  • WasALoyalCustomer

    I have been a customer of ADT since 1988 started out paying annually $350 and have been getting increases on the annual renewal and just got the 2015 renewed at $794 for an old system that has not been upgraded for at least 15+years. Every year we get a similar annual letter to this affect stating “in order to continually deliver innovative security solutions and a world-class customer experience, a amall increase of 3.79 (plus applicable taxes) will be aplied to your monthly service fee to $61.78…” After do some researchs and comparisons, I think ADT does not care about loyal customers. If they do, they would review their customer’s billing and at least offer some sort of discounts. Even if they charge me couple of hundreds to cancel it would worth it to go to another security company.

    • Hi there,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for ADT Security. Your feedback will go a long ways in helping others make an educated home security purchase. 27 years as a customer of them?! That’s loyalty at it’s finest. When you cancel, it would be best to look into a home security service that will provide you with excellent customer care. We ranked Frontpoint #1 in our best home security rankings, and their customer support was a large contributing factor.

      Let us know if you have any questions!

      Thanks,
      Josh

  • Tanya

    Probably my worst experience with any service provider in US. We put the system before relocating to England for a year. Three faulty alarms resulted in huge fees from police and ADT refused to fix it. Now we are moving for good abroad and they want to charge us $300 to cancel the service. My advice – never work with them. Once we are back this is the last company I will be contacting.

    • Hi Tanya,

      Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share you experience with ADT!

      It’s unfortunate to hear you did not have a great experience with ADT Security. We’ve heard similar stories from other ADT customers, and that’s why we haven’t ranked them as high on our 2015 Best Home Security rankings. Your review will definitely be useful for other individuals looking for home security, so we appreciate this feedback.

      Thanks,
      Josh

  • Larry Parker

    Had ADT for sometime before moving and contract had expired and we let them know we were moving and they went ahead after we moved and charged us for another 3 months rental and would not refund the money.

  • chip

    We have had ADT many years. Finally it was time for it to pay for itself. That didn’t happen, we were robbed. Lucky we have cameras because if it were up to ADT they would have gotten away. Guy broke in tripped motion we got the call 4 minutes later? Walk around your home for 4 minutes and see how much you can take in that time. Good luck to those with ADT they are gone from our home. Oh and after looking around which we never did because of having them so long our bill went from $175 every 3 months to $75 every 3 months.

  • Nick

    We got ADT after a break in. We were a bit scared and wanted to go with a big name security company. Little did we know that we agreed to a 3 year contract. Neither the sales lady nor the technician made that clear to us. We didn’t even realize we were in a contract until we tried to cancel 2 years later when moving. The cancellation fee is 75% of the remaining contract. At $47.99 a month, it was well over $500 for us to cancel but I just wanted to be rid of ADT for good. I switched to Simplisafe for $14.99 a month. Unlike ADT, the equipment is wireless and is super easy to install yourself. Plus, I can easily take the equipment with me if I move and just tell Simplisafe my new address. And no contracts or cancellation fees!

  • Tyler

    I would like to start off by saying that ADT security is a horrible company. If you live in IL beware of a sale person named Peter Alfini. He came off as a nice guy but he worded everything in his conversation to make me believe that if I was not happy with ADT for any reason, I could cancel my service and get all of my money back. He also said one thing to me and the techs told me something else. Also if you call ADT for any reason their customer service is awful and you are put on long holds and the reps on the phone have no knowledge of anything. I was double billed for services two days after my installation which was on 06/24/15 and I am still waiting for them to refund my money back to me. America, I would not be wasting my time trying to write this stuff about ADT if it was not true. Please avoid this company at all cost as they lie, cheat and don’t care about the customers. They are only in business to make money and provide you with the worst possible service at minimal cost to them. Remember, Peter Alfini is a sales rep that came into my home and lied to me and my wife. Also, keep in mind ADT only provides 3 year contracts and you can only cancel services 3 days before midnight after your install or you are charged thousands of dollars. It would be cheaper to allow your home to be robbed by someone other then ADT. Beware and make sure if you do decide to get ADT to read the contract and don’t just sign paperwork without understanding everything.

    • We are so sorry this happened to your Tyler. We hope you can get everything sorted. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We cannot express how important it is to read your contract. Again, thank you for sharing and let us know if there is anything we can do to help you.

  • Will Partridge

    ADT is a so-called “security” company that sends completely unprofessional, obnoxious salespeople to your door who won’t leave when asked. I told one of their employees to leave my property three times and he just kept on talking. I had to get right in his face and scream at him before he left. Can’t imagine a universe where I’d trust my security to such a sleazy operation. I would hire a better security company just to keep these people away from my door.

    • Emma

      ADT doesn’t have door to door salesman. They never have. What you most likely were dealing with was a deceptive sale (a scam company) trying to get you to sign a contract you can’t get out of. I know most companies have a legal department or something like that. Maybe you should call them and let ADT know there’s a scammer in your area trying to rip people off.

  • Anonymous

    Forget about getting ADT installed in your home. Had nothing but trouble with ADT. I would leave the house thinking the alarm was activated and then find out many times that the alarm was not activated or set. In my opinion ADT is not a good company to do business with. I do not have ADT now, and after all the B.S. they gave me, and the problems I had with the alarm not working, I would never have an ADT alarm system installed in my home.

  • Rosemary

    ADT has just provided one of the worst customer service experiences in my life. I sold my home and weeks prior called ADT to discontinue my alarm effective June 6, my move date. An agent confirmed that would happen. I came back a few days later to clean the house prior to the buyer’s final walk through and noticed my alarm was still active. I called ADT again, and another agent told me they would discontinue it immediately.
    Today, nearly two weeks later I received an urgent call from my real estate agent saying that the buyers of my home had set off the alarm and needed my code. I had to provide my private code for them to turn the alarm off. I immediately called ADT and was told that I should have given 30 days notice and that for the next 30 days there was nothing I could do. I asked to speak to a manager and as I was waiting I was disconnected. I called back and was switched to 3 different departments. After waiting on the line for 30 minutes, I was connected to an agent who said not to worry my alarm was cancelled but said I should talk to the monitoring department to have the alarm powered down. He gave me the number of monitoring and when I eventually reached someone there I was told that my account was still active. I asked to speak to a manager who said he would personally discontinue it.
    At this point I have lost all trust and who knows if it’s discontinued or not! I can’t believe a security company of all companies does business this way. I will never do business with ADT again and wouldn’t recommend this company for a million dollars. Thank goodness I wasn’t experiencing a real emergency!

  • Nick

    Rotten company, scam artists, subpar equipment, many false alarms, hundreds of dollars paid in false alarm fees from the city, company advised, no effort to correct problems. All these clowns are concerned about is milking you for more cash, they suck, their personnel are too stupid to understand simple requests, steer clear of these con men.

  • foramerica

    We canceled with ADT because we found a cheaper company. In changing we learned that when I had taken down one of the motion sensors in our house about a year ago, ADT should have called us to find out what was going on. Never did. Also, when we switched companies, they had to turn off ADT’s equipment in the house to do it. Even with it turned off, ADT still never called to find out what was going on. It makes us wonder if someone had broken in, would ADT have done anything about it. Lastly, when we called to cancel, we found out the bad news that they require 30 day notice – not sure why. It must have been in the fine print of the several pages of the contract we had to sign. The woman on the phone said it would cost us another $50 to cancel. Really? Then she said they would only charge us $3. I have no idea why she would reduce it. But then we just saw today that they debited our account $50. So either the woman was lying or offered something she could not deliver. Will never go back to ADT. Seems like it is just a scam.

  • jill

    Terrible! Once you move to a new location, you have to start off your contract from beginning.

  • Barry Charnay

    This is a first report. The person who installed was obviously sick and not up to par and admitted. The installation itself was flawless although either the motherboard was defective or a person at one end or the other wasn’t entirely competent (see below). Prior to the installation I had given a credit card number for the cost of that and refused to allow its usage for monthly billing and refused to give the card number for monthly billing prior to installation. [This prevents a number of billing errors and is based on experience. Pity it didn’t work.] I gave him the number after installation. He got it wrong. I gave it to him again. He got it right. Now, this was my debit card I gave him. The number given prior was a credit card. The next day I got a letter in the mail stating my method of payment was invalid and I needed to contact them. I did, and they said that the installation person had failed to note which card should be used for payment. I made it clear. They then billed my debit card (which wasn’t prepped for $400 as opposed to $99 installation and wasn’t supposed to be…used for the installation in any case) for $400 which resulted in an overdraft. I had to call them again (it never happened, apparently) and called the bank–which had not charged me for the overdraft, apparently because the daft I mean ADT had credited it back quickly enough. I have now changed my debit card information enough that they can’t use it. Point is, I would maneuver them (should I live in the Pacific Northwest, at least if I use Gaylord–refrain from unfunny puns, thank you–that “I” being, perhaps, you) so that they do not have access to my bank account, since they have exhibited utter incompetence. In my opinion only although said opinion was fostered through experience. I also added that last from the experience of seeing other sued for not adding the little phrase.

  • Roy L.

    Location: Bella Vista, Arkansas

    We have had nothing but problems since installed. No one will return my calls. We have only had system since Feb 15, it only worked about two weeks.

    We were suppose to have 3 day trial to make sure was working properly, and it never happened. The installer could not figure out why it was not working and he left without it working. I have called and talked to people at ADT and State Home Control about the problem, they always say someone would get back in touch with me and they never have. I have now tried to cancel and either they hang up or will not return my call.

  • Stephanie

    I had my own alarm system installed and contracted service with ADT while my deceased father’s house was on the market. I specified it was month to month. They agreed verbally that was the deal. When I tried to cancel, they said I was obligated to stay 3 years. It was total verbal fraud. Review your contract carefully. They blatantly lied to me and I’m contemplating legal action.

  • Gabe Quintero

    Just had Pulse installed; was never told it was a portable control unit with a power cord plugged into the wall. Not good in a house that has tons of kids coming and going! Not to mention we only got one panel (now an eyesore in our foyer on an entry table), and the two deactivated old panels were never removed/replaced. I would continue to complain (although the house at least has an alarm system again) but waiting for investigators from MDPD to look into the missing jewelry box from an upstairs closet! Honestly, salesman was great, but really?!

  • Vicky

    I have been with ADT for about 5 years and it started at $39.99 or something like that and now its $44.00. They used the old equipment on the house they only used a new key pad. I’m looking for a better service and price. I had a problem with one window and they took too long to come out here, and the first guy did not fix it so I had to call again.

  • Dissatified customer

    ADT is BAD. I have had the system for more the 12 years and now it is falling apart. They will charge me to change the equipment! I pay close to $35 a month and have done so for over 20 years. This is ridiculous.
    I had a appointment with them to come look at one of the zones. I took a day off work. Confirmed my appointment the day before. They never showed up and did not call. When I called to ask, the operator said they had left a message, on talking to the manager, they finally said there was a mistake and they had only called the headquarters but no call to my home. After 20+ years of being a GOOD customer (I usually don’t call even once a year), one would think they would want to keep you. I am changing!

  • Andrew

    Signing up was the worst decision I’ve made as a home owner. Bait and switch sales, horrible customer service, awful response times. Their sales agent, Safe Have Security, is even worse. ADT has already paid out one major class action suit for fraudulent sales tactics in California, and a national case is pending.

  • Kevin O.

    Location: Brewster, NY

    I have had this ADT system in my business for about a year now. I should have never switched from Sonitrol. Since day one this has been a nightmare experience. From day one installers show up at 3PM to do a full day installation. Finally after three days at 9PM it gets installed. Three visits in the next month to get it working. Ok, finally it works for a few months. Then I start getting calls at 3 & 4 AM about “Faults”, not motions or doors opening, but “faults”. In other words the system is failing. The next thing I know I see sensor on the floor in the warehouse no one knows where they came from. They’re literally falling from the sky! Parts of this ‘security system’ are all over the floor.

    Then they won’t give me credit on my bill until the get it fixed! What? Three months later it’s still not working and now my bill is delinquent because I’m not paying for something that doesn’t work.

    We’ve had countless appointments where the technicians haven’t shown up at all! Then they are scheduled for 8-10 AM then at 3PM they say oh they’ll be there by 5PM then they show up at ten minutes to 5. How can they fix this mess in 5 minutes? So I have thrown them out when we close at 5. NEVER AGAIN WILL I USE ADT. And I have several businesses.

  • Marie

    I had my ADT sensor go off at 3am. I grabbed my gun and stood in my hallway letting my alarm system continue to go on with the noise. I got no response from ADT. No call and no police. I finally turned it off and carefully walked through my whole house and garage. Yes if someone had broken in they would have been shot. The next day l reported this they gave me a reduced monthly charge. No, l do not feel safe. My dog and my gun are my protection. However that leaves no secure feeling when not at home. So l have to keep my system. Good luck.

  • Beutiqueen

    ADT is good company but they need to hire nicer and friendlier salespeople. They suck at that.

  • Elaine

    Location: Houston, TX

    Overall I am very happy with our monitored home burglar service with ADT. We pay about $40 a month for it and have had it for 10 years. We have a wired system which requires us to have a land line. We never use the land line to make phone calls anymore, so we looked into getting a wireless system. It was pretty expensive to get this installed, plus since we bundle our TV, Internet and phone service with AT&T, it is actually cheaper to leave the land line on our plan.

    We previously had instances where the wind would cause the door to our garage to open and trigger the alarm. We would be notified the alarm was going off and since we could not get to our home at that time, we did agree to have the police check it out. It costs about $100 each time the police are dispatched. Now we make sure to lock the garage door!

    There was another time we noticed our alarm wasn’t working. I called ADT and they told me it would be $80 to come to our house. I asked to speak to a manager because I thought this was ridiculous and they changed a $5 fuel surcharge. The reason ended up being an old wire. The technician replaced it and was on his way in 20 minutes. Unfortunately the control center for our alarm is in the master bedroom closet on the third floor of our town home. It is kind of annoying having the technician go through our master bedroom and bathroom in order to service our system.

    All in all I am very happy with our service with ADT. I can sleep at night knowing I have an alarm. Plus being on the third story of a town home helps…and a French bulldog that barks at anything.

  • MJ

    Location: PA

    I called Blue Light and scheduled an appointment for someone to come to my home and determine what I would need. The day arrived, and no one came or called. I called Blue Light, and the representative was extremely apologetic. For my hours of waiting, she offered me some free equipment in addition to the promotion that I had seen advertised. Installation day arrived and once again, a no call/no show. I called and the representative said she would investigate and call me back. A few hours later, I called again and spoke to a second person. She said she would follow up and call back. Needless to say, no one ever called. I cancelled the next day. So much for “White Glove Customer Service”.

  • Guest

    Location: Old Forge, NY

    My ADT alarm system started making my phone fail back on June 19th. I had to wait until July 2 to get a repairman here. After waiting all day for him, I got a call at 7:30 PM saying he wouldn't be here today and I would have to reschedule. So obviously, he's coming first thing tomorrow, right? Nope. Nothing before July 16. It seems to me that if you can't service your security systems with less than a two-week lead time, either you make really bad security systems or you just don't give a damn about customer service. Which is it, ADT?

  • Carol Gee

    Location: Stone Mountain, GA

    My family and I are a long time ADT users. When I moved into my house over 20 years ago, home security companies ran the gamut in our 272 home community. However, the majority of the homeowners had an ADT sign in their yards. I had seen commericals for the company for a long time and had gotten recommendations from friends who had it and were happy with it. I wanted a securtity system that was tried and true, so I went with ADT.

    They bill us quaterly, which is convenient, and I like their rapid response when an alarm sounds. In fact, a couple weeks ago my husband made a mistake, setting it when we were heading out of town, causing the alarm to sound. Immediately ADT called to see what was the problem. The lady who called was very pleasant and thanked me for being a long time, valued customer. A year ago we upgraded our system and it went smoothly. After all it was ADT, so I expected no less. 

  • Nicole Dunn

    We are a current ADT customer. We recently had just about the most awful experience with one of their sales person who was sent to our home. We got a notice that we could upgrade to the newest system that is controlled from our iPhone. The saleswoman came to the house and we were horrified. On the ad it had a certain price advertised and when we spoke to the woman about that price, she told us a higher price. When we showed her the flyer, she proceeded to tell us that "Her customers are rich and they don't care about price, they just install." She then insulted my fiance by saying, "Why did you send me all the way up to this mountain if I was going to WASTE my time!" As she walked out the door she said that she wouldn't have that white Mercedes without her rich customers.

    My fiance was horrified. I was not here when this happened, but I called and got the top managers on the phone to discuss this. I wanted a formal apology and a letter explaining that this person was spoken to about the proper way to treat a customer in their home. I did get a phone call from a top manager, explaining that this salesperson was spoken to and the matter was dealt with. We did not want her to lose her job but wanted the company to know that this was unacceptable. The fact that she said we were wasting her time really got us peeved.

    They have since reduced our monthly bill, I would have rather switched to another company, but my fiance wanted to stay put for now.

  • Lisa

    Recently, I met with two salespeople from ADT (a new recruit and his manager) at my home.  The manager did not allow the recruit to say too much, so it was the manager who did the majority of the talking/selling.  I was quoted $200.00 for the Essentials Package which included two sensors, a motion detector, and a keypad.  Since I already have a previous system in place, I presume that the existing power supply box would be used.  Although the manager kept urging me to sign on the spot, I politely refused and informed him that I wanted to research the offer before I made a decision. 

    That evening, I visited the ADT website and discovered that the exact package was being offered for $99.00.  I called the ADT number and several customer service reps confirmed the offer.  When I asked if I would be eligible to receive the $99.00 rate, they referred me back to the local manager and sales recruit.  

    To my surprise, the two salespeople refused to match the internet price and claimed that they were unaware of the $99.00 offer.  When I suggested that they visit the ADT website to confirm the advertised $99.00 offer, there was absolutely no cooperation.  Instead, the young sales recruit shouted at me to stay with my present home security company if I felt so strongly about the $99.00 offer!

  • Anonymous

    Location: Brooklyn, NY

    I was told several times by the salesperson if we moved we would be able to get out of our contract. After over a year and a half of service we needed to move for work purposes to a new state and they sent us a bill for $572.55.

    When I called to complain and tell them about their sales person's miss information, they told me I should've read my contract more closely. Being that they are a security company and they were in charge of keeping my home and family safe I took the liberty of assuming their sales people were trained to be honest about their product offering and their companies services. 

    I was told if I sign up for new service in my home with a new contract for three years they would avoid these fees but clearly do not want to do business with the company as dishonest as ADT. 

    Starting to look into possible class-action suit against them via social networking for others who have experienced this robbery of funds for mystical services.

  • Anonymous

    Location: Iowa

    I've been a customer of ADT since 1995. And the service used to be good. Now, I would never recommend ADT to anyone! Stay clear of this company, your house could be burning down and they would put you on hold and an hour later tell you that they could maybe answer your questions the next day or soon after. ADT has the worst customer service I've ever experienced, and that's saying something. The fire alarm was going off in my house for over an hour while I was on hold and treated very rudely by the support teams. One lady told me it was hard for her to hear me and told me very rudely to go outside since it was kind of hard for her to hear. I live in Iowa, it's freezing, literally. After being hung up on numerous time, being put on hold for who knows how long, and being told that maybe I should try calling back tomorrow during normal working hours, I was beyond frustrated. They only started listening after I threatened to call my lawyer, then they suddenly became more amicable. I don't pay that much to be ignored while my house has alarms blaring so loud that I still have tinnitus. Once again, worst service, I'm currently looking to replace them.

  • Anonymous

    Location: Dickinson, Texas

    My house burned down.  However I am complaining that even though my house did not exist anymore ADT still was charging a monthly fee until the end of the contract. They were very rigid and did not work with me to resolve this issue. Once I move into a new house I will not use ADT. Beware of signing contracts and ask questions about the company policies if you move or a tragedy happens to your house.

  • Angela

    ADT and Protect Your Home sucks! I would not recommend either of these companies to anyone. The have the rudest customers service representatives. My husband and I have been hung up on twice because we have a system that has been going off for the last 5 nights with a troubled zone. They do not want to service the system because they know we want this system out of our house. The agents have little training on how to treat a customer I'm beyond upset. Check with other companies who will give you better customer service because it worth it  Why pay $2,200 for a system that is junk and has the worse customer service available. 

  • a guest

    When I sold my business in 2007, ADT hit me with five hundred dollars in fees when I canceled the service.  I will never use ADT again.

  • Elizabeth

    ADT Customer services here in orange county sucks.  I work with special needs gentlemen that live in a home that has ADT.  We've had our smoke alarm of the system go off. It now reads that it needs service. I tried contacting them. They will service it ten days from today.  I requested emergency services since these are special needs people.  I was told I needed to speak to a supervisor to get someone out sooner, so I would be on hold for 2-3 min.  It was longer than that, with the rep explaining there was no supervisor available to speak with me.  He took my number saying one would get back to me within an hour.  I'm starting on my third hour with no response.  Brinks was our original provider and they were outstanding.  This company has NO CUSTOMER SERVICE.

     
  • a Security Professional

    I don't understand the reasoning behind your request for "unbiased" reviews from real ADT customers.  There are already plenty of reviews of ADT scattered about this site and elsewhere.  Any more reviews will only produce the same results as those which you've already seen and read (both good and bad).

    Good reviews need no further discussion.  Bad reviews are actually very useful.  It's important to read, understand and learn from other people's experiences.

    For example, I've read several "bad reviews of ADT" complain how alarm equipment (such as a smoke detector or a sump pump overflow sensor) failed to perform in an actual emergency.  Is this installer error or equipment failure?

    The lesson to be learned from these "bad reviews" is to test your alarm equipment on a regular basis.  Electronic components of alarm systems can fail at any given moment, yet most consumers expect the security system to continue working perfectly 5 years later without once having tested it after the installer left. 

    What exactly are you trying to discover or learn about ADT?  If you write back with some specific questions, perhaps someone can help you.

    • An ADT Employee

      I have worked for ADT now for the past 2 years. I have been employed as an emergency dispatch operator and customer representative. ADT equipment is not reliable nor is ADT concerned with the impact a failing system has on their customers. They rarely meet the needs of customers with technical services and technicians. Employees for ADT hate their jobs and I’m tired of staff complaining, so I quit. When the system is installed, customers are not being entirely informed of what services they are buying.

      • ATL

        I just encountered a service provider dispatched by ADT that seemed to be angry with me or to dislike his position.  The young man was so disenchanting, that I refused to allow him to perform the service.

    • Chris Barber

      Water sensor at Sump pump failed to activate and thus water is in the basement.

      I insisted that a tech come out today and they told me two weeks. If I wanted someone today it is $375, after arguing for a while they are sending a tech but he will only verify sensor failure. I would like them to be on the hook for the cleanup bill. What should I do?

      Regards, Chris

  • Anonymous

    Helpful article with lots of details but I would love to hear from some real ADT customers on their experiences. It seems to be so all over the map – some good, some great and some horrible. So I need to know the true pros and cons from real customers. Anyone out there who can help?

    • An ADT Employee

      As a current employee for ADT, I advise strongly against purchasing their services. I feel horrible for customers whose systems don't function properly. Quality assessment of ADT equipment is done so that, for example, you have a large bag of 50 sensors. They check the quality of only 2 or 3. The rest could be duds, that is not acceptable. Again, I advise against going with ADT.

Stay Informed.
Never miss an important security industry update from
A Secure Life.