It's just been brought to our attention that phishing emails (malicious emails where a user tries to get you to click a legitimate looking link that takes you to a website disguised as a familiar entity (ie. LinkedIn.com) in order to steal your login information/ personal data) are making the rounds.
If you get an email from "alerts@linkedin.com" entitled LinkedIn Security Notice that contains the LinkedIn logo and the following text:
Your LinkedIn Account has been blocked.
To remove the restrictions please Follow this link
Thank you for using LinkedIn!
--The LinkedIn Team
http://www.linkedin.com/
Š 2011, LinkedIn Corporation
Delete the email and do not click the "follow this link" text, as it does not lead to LinkedIn.com. Instead, it leads to a scammer's website disguised as LinkedIn that will attempt to con you into offering your login details and other personal information.
Please comment below to share your experience with our readers. You can help us spread the word and help people like yourself from becoming victims of this fraud.
All Content © 2012 Contract Web Development, Inc. All Rights Reserved. About Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Disclosure | Powered by Drupal