We may earn money when you click our links. Learn More. X

Are All Sociopaths Criminals?

Home Forums Personal Security Are All Sociopaths Criminals?

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  security43 7 years, 1 month ago.

• Author

Jack Charlie
    Participant

I am a graduate student in psychology and am considering some different topics to use for a paper I must write. I have been wondering for a while about sociopaths and whether they are really destined to become criminals or not. I certainly have my own opinion on this matter, but really wonder what other people may be thinking about this topic or question. So, let’s have at it…do all sociopaths become criminals or commit crimes? I would also like to know your reasoning as to why or why not. Thanks in advance, I appreciate all comments.

• #1425 Reply

security43

This is certainly one of the most interesting questions we have seen here in quite some time. I would like to chime in with my opinion and hope that it can provide some clarity and possible guidance. I am sure you have your own opinion already, but possibly it is not really set in stone yet?

At any rate, I think that if someone is a sociopath, they are generally going to have an idea as to who or what they are. That is not to say that they will be able to rationalize in their own mind that they are a threat to others, society and potentially themselves. But, I do think that they are aware that their personality is fundamentally different from others around them. I also think that because of this, they do take steps to learn how to cope and avoid detection.

In many cases, I would venture to say that fear is a highly motivating factor. A sociopath would certainly not like this fact revealed to the world. Maybe those closest to them (such as parents and siblings) understand, but they do not want this fact broadcast.