We may earn money when you click our links. Learn More. X

Local magazines tell you when people are arrested, publish their pic and arrest details?

Home Forums Personal Security Local magazines tell you when people are arrested, publish their pic and arrest details?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  joe_r82 7 years ago.

• Author

Jack Charlie
    Participant

I am not a lawyer of course, but saw something recently that shocked me quite a bit. I wanted to relate my story here and possibly get some good and honest feedback about it and also see if others feel the same way, or if I am just maybe being a bit too reactionary.

Ok, I was in a couple of my local gas stations recently and noticed that there are a bunch of these magazines that talk about people who have been arrested, primarily in the local community.

So, these magazines actually publish the photo of those who have been arrested, along with all of the details of their arrest. I imagine this could be quite embarrassing to the people involved.

Also, I feel this is a clear invasion of their right to privacy. It offended me a little bit. After all, if something were to ever happen to me, I could be unjustly accused of something and be arrested. Then my name would go in such a magazine and everyone would think that I was a criminal! How is this legal? Am I wrong to feel offended by this?

• #1333 Reply

joe_r82

I can understand how someone who was arrested or accused unjustly would feel like their rights are being violated if their picture was published. However, I do not think that this is something to be overly concerned or worried about. Basically, these are magazines that take the police reports and other pieces of information and then report on them. They have been around for some time, although I think that today they are more popular than ever.